Transition

We are very aware at Scissett Middle, that starting in a new school can be a potentially anxious time for pupils. We work very hard at making sure that the transition from first school, is as smooth as possible. In order to make things even smoother for our children, for the last 3 years, each curriculum area has organised a transition event which year 5 pupils are invited to attend. The activities on offer are as varied as they are fun –yet educational-. These sessions are spread out throughout the academic year and as usual, this December we will start with the extremely popular “Harry Potter Quiz”! The response from year 5 pupils and their teachers is always extremely positive, the atmosphere amongst our young visitors often described as “buzzing” on their return to the feeder school. 

Here is this years programme:

Date Time Transition Event
Wednesday 4th December 9:45 - 10:45 Harry Potter Quiz - the first three books
Monday 20th January 1:30 - 2:30 STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Maths) Challenge
Wednesday 5th February 1:30 - 2:30 Maths Challenge
Monday 2nd March 1:30 - 2:30 Art Workshop
Monday 9th March 1:30 - 2:30 PE
Wednesday 20th May 9:30 - 10:30 French
Wednesday 10th June 9:30 - 10:30 Music
Wednesday 17th June TBC Additional Visit for Vulnerable Pupils
Wednesday 24th June TBC Additional Visit for Vulnerable Pupils
Wednesday 1st July TBC Drama Workshop

 

© Copyright 2019 Scissett Middle School